Key to WW1 Imperial War Grave Commission Enquiry File Prefixes: AA, CCM, CDEW, HLG, PH, SL, WW

Key to Enquiry File Prefixes

The majority of the letters used in the prefixes stand for the names of places where there were Army record offices. There is no surviving contemporary key. The new key has been made by relating the range of units covered in surviving Enquiry file (E-file) series to specific Army record offices, corps and countries (the Navy and R.A.F. are also covered by CCM). Each record office served a known group of units/regiments. They were at the core of the Army’s system of maintaining service records and keeping in touch with next-of-kin. It is clear that the E-file prefix system was originally designed to match the enquiry file system of the D.G.R.E and I.W.G.C. to the Army record offices, who were of crucial importance to the work of the Commission into the 1920s.

See relevant entries for associated Army record offices, regiments and corps.

AA Artillery and Australia


CCM This prefix covers:

1) The Cavalry. During WW1 cavalry records were split between Canterbury and York. Looking in comparison at the Army medal records the abbreviation CC indicated the Cavalry Record Office Canterbury and CY the Cavalry Record Office York.

2) Canadian/Dominion/Imperial units other than Australian.

3) British Army corps, e.g. RAMC, RFC etc. (however for R.E. and Labour Corps see W.W.)

4) The RAF from April 1918.

5) The Royal Naval Division, Royal Navy and associated organisations, the Merchant Marine

6) The Chinese Labour Corps


CDEW Cork, Dublin, Exeter and Warwick


HLG Hounslow, London and Guards (Foot and Horse)


PH Perth and Hamilton


SL Shrewsbury and Lichfield


WW Warley and Winchester


YP York and Preston



AA (Artillery & Australia)



Royal Field Artillery

Royal Horse Artillery

Royal Garrison Artillery


All Australian units



CCM Cavalry (Canterbury/York – not including Horse Guards), Canada and Commonwealth (including India, excluding Australia), Miscellaneous Corps


Cavalry Canterbury

1st Dragoon Guards

2nd Dragoon Guards

3rd Dragoon Guards

4th Dragoon Guards

5th Dragoon Guards

6th Dragoon Guards

7th Dragoon Guards

1st Royal Dragoons

2nd Dragoons (Royal Scots Greys)

5th (Royal Irish) Lancers

6th (Inniskilling) Dragoons

9th (Queen’s Royal) Lancers

12th (Prince of Wales’s Royal) Lancers

16th (The Queen’s) Lancers

17th (Duke of Cambridge’s Own) Lancers

21st (Empress of India’s) Lancers

Bedfordshire Yeomanry

Berkshire Yeomanry

City of London Yeomanry (Rough Riders)

2nd County of London Yeomanry (Westminster Dragoons)

Derbyshire Yeomanry

Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry

East Riding of Yorkshire Yeomanry

Essex Yeomanry

Fife & Forfar Yeomanry

Glamorgan Yeomanry

Hampshire Yeomanry

Hertfordshire Yeomanry

King Edward’s Horse

Lanarkshire Yeomanry

Lincolnshire Yeomanry

Lothians & Border Horse

Lovat’s Scouts

Montgomeryshire Yeomanry

Norfolk Yeomanry

Northamptonshire Yeomanry

Queen’s Own Royal Glasgow Yeomanry

Scottish Horse

Shropshire Yeomanry

North Somerset Yeomanry

Surrey Yeomanry

Sussex Yeomanry

Yorkshire Dragoons


Cavalry York

Ayrshire Yeomanry

Buckinghamshire Yeomanry

1st County of London Yeomanry

3rd County of London Yeomanry (Sharpshooters)

Cheshire Yeomanry

Camel Corps

Denbighshire Yeomanry

Royals 1st Devon Yeomanry

Royal North Devon Yeomanry

Dorset Yeomanry

Gloucestershire Yeomanry (Royal Gloucester Hussars)

3rd (King’s Own) Hussars

4th (Queen’s Own) Hussars

7th (Queen’s Own) Hussars

8th (King’s Own) Hussars

10th (Prince Albert’s Own) Hussars

13th Hussars

14th (King’s) Hussars

15th (The King’s) Hussars

18th (Queen Mary’s Own) Hussars

19th (Queen Alexandra’s Own Royal) Hussars

20th Hussars

Irish Horse North.

Irish Horse South.

Royal East Kent Yeomanry

West Kent Yeomanry

Lancashire Hussars

Leicester Yeomanry

Northumberland Yeomanry

Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Sherwood Rangers)

South Nottinghamshire Hussars

Oxfordshire Yeomanry

Pembroke Yeomanry

West Somerset Yeomanry

Staffordshire Yeomanry

Suffolk Yeomanry

Warwickshire Yeomanry

Westmorland & Cumberland Yeomanry

Royal Wiltshire Yeomanry

Worcestershire Yeomanry

Yorkshire Hussars


Welsh Horse – unclear whether Canterbury or York


Canada and all Commonwealth (other than Australia), Indian and Imperial units

Chinese Labour Corps

Miscellaneous British units –

Machine Gun Corps

Motor Machine Gun Service

Royal Flying Corps/RAF

Army Chaplains Department

Military Mounted Police

Military Provost Staff Corps

Military Foot Police

Queen Alexandra’s Imperial Military Nursing Service

Queen Mary Army Auxiliary Corps

Royal Army Medical Corps

Royal Army Pay Corps, Royal Army Ordnance Corps

Royal Army Service Corps

Royal Army Veterinary Corps

Royal Guernsey Light Infantry

Royal Jersey Militia

Tanks Corps




Royal Naval Division (including the Royal Marines)

Royal Navy and associated organisations

Merchant Marine


CDEW (Cork, Dublin, Exeter & Warwick)


Royal Irish Regiment

Connaught Rangers

Royal Munster Fusiliers

Prince of Wales’s Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians)




Royal Dublin Fusiliers

Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers

Princess Victoria’s (Royal Irish Fusiliers)

Royal Irish Rifles




Duke of Cornwall’s Light Infantry

Duke of Edinburgh’s (Wiltshire) Regiment

Hampshire Regiment

Dorset Regiment

Somerset Light Infantry

Devon Regiment



Gloucestershire Regiment

Worcestershire Regiment

Royal Warwickshire Regiment

Princess Charlotte of Wales’s (Royal Berkshire) Regiment

Non-Combatant Corps




HLG Hounslow, London and Guards (Foot and Horse)




Queens Royal West Surrey Regiment

Duke of Cambridge’s Own (Middlesex) Regiment

East Surrey Regiment

Royal Sussex Regiment

East Kent Regiment

Queen’s Own (Royal West Kent) Regiment

Cyclist Corps

The Kent Cyclist Battalion




London Regiments

Royal Defence Corps.

Honourable Artillery Company Infantry Section (members of the H.A.C. Artillery Section can also be found under the AA prefix)

Royal Fusiliers

Inns of Court O.T.C. (Officers’ Training Corps)


Foot Guards


Coldstream Guards

Grenadier Guards

Scots Guards

Welsh Guards

Irish Guards.

Guards Machine Gun Regiment


Horse Guards


1st Life Guards

2nd Life Guards

Royal Horse Guards


PH Perth & Hamilton



Gordon Highlanders

Black Watch (Royal Highlanders)

Queen’s Own Cameron Highlanders

Seaforth Highlanders

Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise’s)

Highland Cyclist Battalion


Royal Scots

Royal Scots Fusiliers

Scottish Rifles (Cameronians)

Highland Light Infantry

Kings Own Scottish Borderers


SL Shrewsbury & Lichfield




South Wales Borderers

Kings Shropshire Light Infantry

Prince of Wales’s Volunteers (South Lancashire) Regiment

Welsh Regiment

Cheshire Regiment

Royal Welsh Fusiliers

Herefordshire Regiment

Monmouth Regiment




South Staffordshire Regiment

Leicestershire Regiment

Notts & Derby Regiment (Sherwood Foresters)

Prince of Wales’s (North Staffordshire) Regiment

Lincolnshire Regiment


WW Warley & Winchester


Northamptonshire Regiment

Norfolk Regiment

Suffolk Regiment

Cambridge Regiment

Hertfordshire Regiment

Essex Regiment

Bedfordshire Regiment

Huntingdon Cyclists

Non-Combatant Corps

Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Infantry




King’s Royal Rifle Corps

Rifle Brigade


Miscellaneous British Units


Royal Engineers

Labour Corps


YP York & Preston



Yorkshire Regiment

East Yorkshire Regiment

Durham Light Infantry

Northern Cyclist Battalion

Northumberland Fusiliers

Duke of Corn Wellington’s (West Riding) Regiment

Yorkshire & Lancaster Regiment

King’s Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

Prince of Wales’s Own West Yorkshire Regiment


Lancashire Fusiliers

East Lancashire Regiment

Border Regiment

Manchester Regiment

Loyal North Lancashire Regiment

King’s Liverpool Regiment

King’s Royal Lancashire Regiment